…..And Now, Presenting (cue drum roll, please!)

just hold on cover

After I lost my father, I crumbled for a long while. I struggled for quite some time to pick the pieces of myself back up. Tears were no stranger to me, and I had horrendous nightmares, unable to sleep for days at a time. It was right around then that I began to write as an outlet for my distress. Little things, like poetry, to begin with, and then a few short pieces of fiction. One night, rather than a nightmare, I woke in the darkness with a story in my mind, and slipped out of bed to start scribbling. By the end of the week, I’d filled a red spiral notebook and thought, “What if I could finish this?”

And so I did.

This story is dear to my heart, and the writing of it was a balm for the open wound of grief. I started it three years ago, and have been tweaking it periodically ever since.

As most of my readers know, I lost my sister last summer. Months after that startling loss, I felt a sudden clarity.

The epiphany was this: My sister was so young. She had plans for “later”, but for her, the future was cut tragically short. I am young. I have plans. I want to accomplish them now, because later may never come for me. Who knows? I could look back in ten years and say I wished I’d done it, or I could look back in ten years and say I’m glad I did it, or in ten years I could be dead.

And that is why I could no longer wait.

Friends, I’ve published my book, and I’d love for you to take a look at it. “Just Hold On” was my sanity through grief, and my joy when finished, and if you’d like to check it out, it’s available on Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Just-Hold-Valarie-Savage-Kinney/dp/1499108486/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1401195143&sr=1-1&keywords=just+hold+on

Or for a signed, print copy, you may order via PayPal from my website:
http://vkinney6393.wix.com/justholdon

I’m also around on GoodReads, and I’d love to connect with you. šŸ˜€

And if you do purchase “Just Hold On”, I’d love feedback!

As always, thanks for stopping by!

— Valarie

Leave a Reply

