Can You Predict Your Outcome?

This month’s guest blog post is brought to you by a fantastic author, Sheri Fredricks. Please take a moment to read through what she has to say, and please check out her links and books. Thanks, Sheri!

Can you predict your outcome?
By Sheri Fredricks

Hi everyone!
Thank you to Valarie for hosting me today.

Not too long ago I read a blog that asked if you could predict your driving behavior.

The scenario:

The light turns green, but the car in front doesn’t move. Twelve seconds go by. Do you think you’d be more likely to honk if the car was an old junker…

Junker truck

© Flickr

or if it was a brand new Porsche?

SHERI'S PORSCHE

2014 Porsche Boxster

The surprising overall answer came back that the majority of people would honk at the sleek sports car over the junker.

Thinking about the study as it might apply to books, I began to wonder . . .

If a book were published by a traditional publisher (ie: Kensington, Avon, Harlequin, etc.), presented to the reader with an eye-catching cover, and written by a NYT bestselling author . . . .

Would that give a reader extra enthusiasm over another author who worked equally as hard, published by a relatively young ePublisher, had the sharp cover, but didn’t yet have the aforementioned exposure?

Weird guy pic

© Flickr

Let’s use JR Ward’s books as an example because I’m a huge fan of hers. Her book jackets are only a tease to what you’ll read between the front and back covers. And once you open the first page, you’re automatically transported to another realm — into a world where vampire warriors are huge, sexy, and love their mates.

The main character in Remedy Maker is enormous — larger than life. Rhycious is a centaur . . . and in human years, he’s old. I gave him a strong persona, some real major head-trips, and a sworn duty that must be performed.

REMEDY MAKER PIC

A part of his moral fiber is commitment to see things through to completion. When he agrees to help the heroine if she helps him in return, their story begins.

Here’s a quick excerpt:

Patience brought a slender foot to the blue rug. Each tiny provocative toe aroused his possessive Centaur half, demanding that he take what he wanted. He couldn’t pull his gaze away. Typical of the sex-starved dog he was, he followed the sensual assault.

“. . . so I’m good, thanks.”

His mouth closed with a distinctive click, and he snapped his gaze to her face. He caught himself leaning forward in his seat, his mug resting on the rocker’s arm. Rolling his shoulders and plastering a bored expression on his face, Rhycious made a show of slouching further back into the chair and rested his black boot over a knee.

“Good, that’s . . . good. I’m glad you’re much better.” Oh gods, he blabbered like an adolescent scenting his first spring heat.

Concentrate on your duty. He’d just come out and say it, get the damn ball to roll into her court.

“You want to find your sister. I’m in a position to help.”

Disbelief crossed her face, turning into surprise, and finally tears welled to overflow. They gushed from her eyes to stream down both peachy cheeks. Well, that certainly cooled his ardor. She hung her head and sniffed, wiping a finger under each eye.

“That’s so cool of you. I wasn’t sure what I would do.” Her watery smile wavered, lips trembling. “Don’t know how I can ever thank you.”

He caught himself before the lewd suggestion popped out of his dirty mouth and got him in trouble.

***

Lately, I’ve read many great books by brand-new authors. More times than not, I’ve come away from the story feeling like I’ve found the next NYT bestseller.

Recommendations and posted reviews are the best ways to show love to your favorite authors.

Do you give an equal chance to a writer who is new to you?

Here’s where you can find me on the internet:

Website: http://www.sherifredricks.com
Blogsite: http://www.sherifredricks.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SheriFredricks
Twitter: http://twitter.com/Sheri_Fredricks
I love to interact with readers, so look me up!

My modern mythic romance books are available at all the usual online outlets:
Remedy Maker (book 1 of The Centaurs)
Troll-y Yours (book 2 of The Centaurs)
Portals of Oz (a Wood Nymph novella)

Thank you for your hospitality, Valarie.
And don’t forget to leave your comments!

10 responses to “Can You Predict Your Outcome?

  1. I’ve actually stopped reading books from trad publishers because I simply can’t afford them. But what I found is the books I’ve read from small e-presses and self pubbed authors are NOT lacking in quality. In fact, I found most are better–the stories are better. And here’s my opinion. A self published author or a an author published through a smaller company doesn’t have to stick to the same formula. They have the freedom to write fresh stories, fresh characters–ones that aren’t so damn predictable. I’m tired of the same formula used over and over. I’m tired of characters that read the same as the previous book I’ve read–only with different names, and lol, some of the names are used too much.
    Romance stories are in dire need of some fresh ideas. Ideas and characters that push the envelope. And I found that authors from smaller publishing houses and self pubbed authors are delivering. Although their prices are lower, the quality in most are NYT level or better.

    • Interesting thoughts, Brenda! I guess I’ll read just about anything, as long as I’m entertained. 😀 Though I enjoy reading Indie books and giving reviews because I find most Indie authors to be more friendly and appreciative and have less attitude. But I don’t discriminate, really, either way. Thanks for stopping by!

    • I stopped buying paperbacks when ebooks came out. Ebooks are less expensive. And after reading a few great self and indie pubbed authors, I’ve pretty much stopped buying from the traditional publisher, too. The good news is many of those authors are going the self pub route and the price of their books are competitive with the “real” market.

      Plus, like you mentioned, self & indie authors can write outside the box and create a story that blows our minds! Love your comment – thank you!!

    • And therein lies the crux. It starts at the top of the heap and all trickles down. Traditional publishers can’t afford to take a chance, agents have to be cutthroat with the limits acquiring editors place, and the newbie author receives another rejection on a perfectly good story. I’m thankful for Indie and Self Publishing and what they have to offer not just the author, but the reader in price-point value. Thank you for your comment!

  2. Great post Sheri! I have to agree 100% I do love my indie authors and have read so many that I can honestly say they are just as high if not better quality than some NYT sellers, you included!
    I don’t care if the author is brand new and self pubbed or a best seller (which I get from the library) I will read it because I love a good story.

    • My TBR pile is sky high and the Kindle is stuffed to burst with mostly Indie and self published authors. Big publishing companies set standards their authors aren’t allowed to cross while everyone else happily jumps the fence. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

