Thirty-Eight.

1174898_469946549780016_1881714862_n
Hey, it’s really not so great

Feeling almost thirty-eight

Man, my knees really creak

So many dishes in the sink!

These dishes never end

Teenagers busy pressing “send”.

Baseball, soccer, and then Scouts

Never a minute for time-out

Sometimes I’m tired of this

But the kids’ activities are never missed.

Homework’s gotta get done

Wish I had more time just for fun

Need more caffeine in my cup

Reach down just to pet my pup.

But then she pees the floor

Think I might walk out this door

Then again, I guess I’ll stay

I kind of like her anyway.

Hey, it’s really not so great

Feeling almost thirty-eight

My roots can be a fright

And these blue jeans are too damn tight.

These dishes never end

Teenagers busy pressing “send.”

Sometimes I get so tired

I miss the days when I was wired

On just three hours of sleep

Wanna lay down and count some sheep.

But there’s so much more to do

Household chores are never through

Come help me with what needs done next

Can’t help, Mom, I’ve got a text.

Hey, it’s really not so great

Feeling almost thirty-eight

My house is always a mess

Sometimes I think it’s one big Test.

These dishes never end

Teenagers busy pressing “send”.

Hey, it’s really not so great

Feeling almost thirty-eight

Arthritis setting in

Is that a hint of double chin?

These dishes never end

Teenagers busy pressing “send.”

But, I guess I’ve got it right

Kids and a guy who stay home at night

At least I have that much

Though my teenagers think I’m out of touch.

Not sure what this implies;

Children’s aggravated sighs

Mom, I just need ten bucks

Sorry, kid, you’re out of luck.

Hey, you know we’re rotten broke

Quit laughing! This is not a joke

Seems I’m losing all my time

Spending dollars, making dimes.

Hey, its’ really not so great

Feeling almost thirty-eight

My joints, they always hurt

Am I too old to wear this shirt?

Laundry piled up in all the baskets

I wish you’d help me before I ask it

Just want a little bit of your time

Sit with me here while I rock this rhyme.

My life is going so many ways

Can’t keep track of it most days

Don’t want to miss a thing

Come on, join with me and sing.

Hey, it’s really not so great

Feeling almost thirty-eight

Man, my knees really creak

So many dishes in the sink!

These dishes never end

Teenagers busy pressing “send.”

Leave a Reply

